top of page

Aspirations Of Success

In our country where education is so abundant,

You would think our people would try to reap the fruits of success,

Instead I see my people poor and in distress,

Lamenting at wasting their chances for success,

Regretting their choices which made their life a mess.


They lived in a carefree land where they had every option,

Drinking excessively with no regards to education,

Having sex regardless of protection,

And doing drugs in the most suspicious of locations,

They were happy on this plane of bliss,

But this bliss was about to be dismissed,

Into the nightmare of failures that made them miss,

The dreams of success that they so desired and led,

Crumbled and were lost faster than they were said.


The plane of reality struck the ignorant who dismissed their schoolwork,

As they ignored it and classified it as fool's work,

But still perplexed at their failures as if they did their own work,

And the cycle repeats itself like clockwork,

Our country, rampant with education, has lost its credibility,

To these people who lost their dreams and strove for mediocrity,

Who are now working in places that are out of the normality,

And repeating their past acts of drug until they have lost their sanity.


The worsening of this situation has me in sorrow,

About myself and my peers in each path we follow,

The question in my head, attacked my brain and bellowed,

"Are my friends and I's paths safe to a life of success and mellow?

Or are we lost souls doomed to wallow?"






bottom of page