top of page

Meet Dejà Kimberly Lewis.

Have you ever listened to a song and thought, “Wow this is pretty dope!” then you do some stalking/research on the artiste and start choking on your drink when you find out they’re only in their teens and so dang good? Similarly, 17 year old Deja Kimberly Lewis has us gagging with the raw passion that’s plain to be seen in her spoken word performances. That charm is exactly what landed her a place in the finals of the “First Citizens’ National Poetry Slam” (you can see her on March 29th at the National Academy for the Performing Arts). She participated in “Raise The Bar: Secondary school Intercol” and helped her school take first place while snatching the title for best individual poem. She’s truly raising the bar at such a young age. Sixth form student of St.George’s College , Deja breaks barriers with her controversial pieces. These typically range from touchy topics like religion and rape to racism and women’s rights. When asked about how she deals with criticism from others on her pieces, she giggled-saying she actually loves it. Art is meant to comfort the disturbed and disturb the comfortable. Simple. Here’s a few of her other responses to some questions I had for her during a short interview :

 

Q: What does writing mean to you? A: Good question, writing is extremely serious and important to me… it’s not just a hobby, as growing up and going through stuff it served as an outlet for me, a coping mechanism. It’s an amazing art form- the most amazing art form to me.

Q: What was the series of events that led you to writing your first piece ? A: Well back when I first entered form one I was sick and stuff I got the feeling as though I couldn’t hear, but I wasn’t really sure. Then I discovered I was deaf and got my hearing aids. I was teased about it a lot and I became really insecure about them. I was really bothered, but instead of tripping off on everyone I would go home and write, not really poetry but just my feelings. It eventually developed from “I’m so sad, I hate these children” into actual pieces, now I’m where I am.

Q: How would you describe a typical piece from you ? A: Well I like to write about controversial stuff. My motive really, past entertaining, is to stand for what I believe in with my writing. It feels good when people listen to my pieces and get moved by my words as I literally push them out of their comfort zones when topics they may not be able to handle like religion, racism etc are brought up.

Q: Who were your main support systems when you first started to write ? A: My mom-I love her so much! She supports me in everything I do and pushes me to do better. In form 2/3 , I went to College Fair and she actually got me to perform a piece of my own when 2 Cents was there- and that was like the first time I performed something I wrote publicly. Also, I’m part of a group called 6geng – an upcoming creative company. They put me into my first competition (School Slam 2015) and prepped me for it. So while my mom pushed me to do my first performance they pushed me into taking part in competitions. My two biggest supporters I’d say.

Q: Do you have any major inspirations? A: Well my church I’d say-because before I started writing on more heavy topics, I’d write little pieces for my church and stuff, so that helped set my foundation. There’s also this guy, Rudy Francisco. He’s my favourite poet, I like how he can take a really tragic event and make it his own story by putting himself into it. That really inspired me.

Q: Do you think others should become involved in writing ? A: Well yeah of course! You see there’s a lot of misconceptions on what poetry should be. It doesn’t have to be anything but you, it doesn’t have to rhyme or sound perfectly structured or have the world of metaphors. What you write is your own work of art, just own it.

Q: What are some tips you’d give to other writers when it comes to coping with criticism ? A: Honestly once you believe in what you’re writing and YOU know what you're trying to say no one else’s opinion really matters. Be sure of yourself and confident in your work. You’ll be unshakeable really.

Throughout this interview Deja also spoke about her decision to pursue a career in journalism, which was influenced by her love for writing of course. All in all we can learn a lot from this young lady who embodies charisma,uniqueness,nerve and talent. Much like a sunflower, Deja was able to adapt when placed under strenuous conditions and grow beautifully. There’s beauty in pain. She works with such tenacity and gumption and is truly an inspiration to us all.

Deja’s social media are listed below for anyone wishing to get in contact with her, for business or casual purposes. If you’d like to see her perform live – you can also contact her for tickets to the First Citizens’ National Poetry Slam (April,29th, 2018.)

Email: kimt6223@gmail.com

Interviewer/writer : Karisma Edwards


bottom of page