top of page

Meet Rayquan868.

Our beautiful island of Trinidad and Tobago is a place filled with a multitude of talented individuals from singers, athletes, musicians, artists and so much more. A lot of these people go unnoticed but that doesn't mean they aren't working hard to make a name for themselves and help put Trinidad and Tobago on the map. We are going to be covering an individual that has been a part of the rap scene in Trinidad and Tobago for a quite some time now. For those who aren't paying attention, the local rap scene has been picking up lately with a lot of new artistes seemingly coming out of nowhere from time to time and dropping new songs in an attempt to get their music out there and become recognized.

The individual that we are going to be covering is Rayquan868. Rayquan has been working very hard when it comes to his music and even dropped a mixtape late last year. I've been keeping my eyes on Rayquan and all that he is doing and decided to interview him and see what his story entails. I hope you guys enjoy this article and share with your friends and family so others can enjoy as well.

 

1. Could you tell us about yourself and your background?

I've always been a creative and this manifested into my love for Hip Hop. I grew up in Diego Martin and Santa Cruz however I spent the majority of my teenage years in Belmont. I attended Trinity College, Moka, a school that has produced a lot of the nation's creatives and also where at the age of fifteen I really became interested in rap. My project Kazim reflects of aspects of upbringing as well as my own chosen direction in life, hence the contrasts between bangers like Black Navara and Flex and reflective songs like Nigeritis and Sweet Lies.

2. What is your background in music?

As a listener I enjoyed several genres: from Hip Hop to R&B to Dancehall. With regard to the genre of Hip Hop, I've enjoyed several of its various sub-categories such as trap, old school gangster rap and the various styles of new school rap. I've incorporated different elements of these styles into my own sound.

4. What initially made you get into rapping?

As I said I've always been an artistic individual and self-expression is something I value highly. Also I've always taken pride in my ability to compete and excel among my peers which made listening to Hip Hop with its roots in competition and culture of braggadocio a naturally appealing thing to me. What stood out to me was the free styling and brilliance of Hip Hop artistes of the time. I grew up listening to Eminem, Biggie Smalls, 50 Cent and Lil Wayne.

5. How do you separate yourself from other rappers?

I think what separates me is my emphasis on quality and originality. I strive to be a relatable and unique artiste. I pride myself and continuously hone my ability to freestyle off the top. One of the main reasons I released a full length project at the age of 20 despite being relatively unknown at the time was to separate myself from other "upcoming artistes."

6. Can you name any rappers that influenced your style?

My style comes from a mix of influences; from juggernauts lyricists such has Eminem, Biggie and Kendrick to more chill artistes like Asap Rocky and his G.O.O.D music protege Big Sean.

7. What do you think about the Hip Hop scene in Trinidad and Tobago?

Honestly now Is the best time to be a local rapper as the local rap scene is picking up popularity and already has a fair enough following. Issues such as a lack of public interest, media coverage and limited opportunities aren't as a prevalent.

8. What are some of the inspirations for the lyrics u write?

Most of my lyrical ideas come up in casual settings such as liming with friends. A lot come from positive experiences and others from negative ones and very grim realities. I've had my fair share of both, for instance a lot of people didn't know that I had a near-death experience in 2015. Almost dying has just made being alive inspiring.

9. What was your main goal when you decided to release the mixtape?

Honestly, I wanted to prove a point to myself and open the door to do even greater things. In retrospect, it worked brilliantly in my favour as I gained invaluable experience and subsequently improved on my style. Also, as expected, it opened up the door for me to work with more producers and artistes as the project speaks for itself and shows how serious I am as an artiste.

10. Have you ever done a live performance and if so which was your most memorable?

I've done my fair share of live performances with each one more successful than the last with my first performance being in 2015. My most memorable performance was at Golden Aura Nightlife's Project X-Mas rooftop party in 2018. What made this memorable was that it was the first time I performed "Waste Gyal" publicly yet the crowd knew the words of the song and actively participated in the performance, chanting the words of the song alongside me.

11. If you could work with anybody who would you choose and why?

It depends on the context to be truthful. In a cypher I would definitely say Eminem. On the stage I would have to say Kendrick Lamar. As a producer I would have to say Kanye West hands down. On a collaboration track A$AP Rocky.

12. Do you have any plans that you can share with us for 2018?

Right now I have a lot of behind the scenes stuff going on that I can't really share just yet. What I can say for sure though is to expect more collaborations with noteworthy local artistes, some of which has already been recorded and is awaiting release.

13. Do you have any advice to give to the readers?

A life without risk is a life not lived. That's a belief that I live by, whether it be in terms of music or anything else. It's also why I truly believe the name Rayquan868 will soon become one that won't be forgotten.

You guys can check out his music on Youtube and follow him on all major social media platforms. You can also check out his latest single "Alive" on Youtube as well.


bottom of page