top of page

A Girl


I am a girl

A girl who is intelligent

A girl who is captivating

A girl that is capable of anything she puts her mind to.

A girl that is stereotyped because the minority of her race are lethargic ignorant beings.

A girl, who is scorned, despised and shunned of opportunities that she is very much worthy of.

Why? Guess. You haven’t figured it out yet? Let me give you a hint.

I’m Black.

Some may ask the question “why couldn’t I be lighter or whiter?”

I work and I dream but still condemned and deemed while being surpassed by those of the colour cream.

African Queens we are, more valuable than any white man’s car.

The urge of acceptance, not to be rejected and set aside in the distance

I am a girl, furthermore a human don’t be confounded

I am a girl.

A girl who is strong.

I am a ‘Black’ girl is that so wrong?

I am like a variable and they are like the coefficient.

I am a girl even though I might look, speak and dress different.

They take our culture and turn it into trends

When it was already here at the very beginning and will be to the very end

I am a Black girl try to understand that as they say “once you go black you never go back”.

But you see I believe it is indeed a need for us to strive and achieve

Whether they like it or not we have to build each other up

My dear, there is no need for tears

But yet still some of us make fares while portraying ourselves in our underwear

So after they smash, pay us in cash, they treat us like trash

Oh! The irony

They think its “slutty” when you’re 16 or younger and having a baby

I AM A GIRL!

Say it!

I am not some tool that you can you use then to make look like a fool

I am a girl with morals, confidence and values

Discipline and what have you

But I’m serious don’t be delirious

To the fact that I am Black

And that’s that.


bottom of page