top of page

Meet Model Naomi Chin Wing.

A lot of young people in Trinidad and Tobago dream of one day becoming a successful model and would love to take part in runway shows and many other things to build a portfolio. One of our very own models was recently modelling for some very big name fashion houses like Yves Saint Laurent and Alexander McQueen, her name is Naomi Chin Wing. Naomi is a 17 year old girl from Trinidad and Tobago who recently left for London to further her modelling career. She was recently featured on a Vogue article after she graced the runways in Europe.

I decided to write an article about Naomi because plenty girls want to get into modeling professionally and I believe that interviewing her is a good idea due to the fact that you guys will be able to learn something from her and those of you who want to become models can apply whatever she said to yourselves and model for fashion houses like Yves Saint Laurent and so on. I hope you guys enjoy this article and share it with your friends.

1. Could you tell us a bit about yourself and your background?

I am very outgoing, self motivated and always ready to try something new.

2. What schools did you go to?

I attended La Puerta Government Primary School and Providence Girls' Catholic School.

3. Were your friends and family supportive of your dreams of becoming a model?

Yes, my friends and family were very supportive of my dreams. They were the ones who pushed me to become a model in the first place.

4. Who or what inspired you to get into modelling?

I don't think anyone or anything inspired me to model, I always liked modelling and was given advice that I should start to model.

5. How old were you when you first started modelling?

I was fifteen years old when I started modelling, and I was very new to everything within the industry.

6. What is the hardest part of modelling for you?

I think the hardest part of modelling for me is the competition there is at castings, especially when there are limited spaces and there a hundreds of girls you are up against. You have to bring your A-game to get the job.

7. Do you still live in Trinidad and Tobago?

No, I do not live in Trinidad and Tobago anymore. Since I am based in London I have to live here to make it easier for clients to get me to and from jobs. Trinidad and Tobago is too far especially since the industry is so competitive you need to be ready and easy to access or else the job will go to someone else.

8. How old were you when you got signed to a modelling agency?

I was fifteen when I got signed to Coco Velvet International, a prestigious agency in Trinidad and Tobago, and Elite Latin in and South America. After winning the competition within Coco Velvet's workshop, held by director Christopher Nathan, I was awarded a contract by both Coco Velvet and Elite Latin and South America model management, directed by John Bilboa.

9. How did you get to work with fashion houses like Yves Saint Laurent and Alexander McQueen?

Yves Saint Laurent was my debut show for modelling. Alexander McQueen was one of the six shows I did for my first season, the other five were Yves Saint Laurent, Giambattista Valli, John Galliano, Altuzarra and Rochas.

10. How do you handle stressful situations?

I always try my best to work around stressful situations, sometimes there are castings that run longer than expected or have too many girls for you to wait any longer and you have to reach to another casting so you may have to leave a potential job to go to another casting and you aren't even sure if you will get that job. It is sometimes a lot to deal with but you have to maintain a calm mind.

11. What is your greatest weakness and what are you doing to improve that?

I think my greatest weakness would be my lack of confidence, because I have lost shows due to the fact that I wasn't confident enough in myself. Next season I will be doing much better and getting the shows I didn't get this season.

12. What are your goals as a model?

My goals are to make enough money to give my family and I a better life than the life we currently have. My goals for modelling would be to eventually reach on the level on Joan Smalls, Naomi Campbell and many other modelling idols.

13. Where do you see yourself in the next few years?

I see myself furthering my education while balancing my career as a model.

14. How do you define success?

Success is what you make it to be, set goals for yourself and achieve those goals one by one. Everyone has their own definition of success and we should't compare success because you never know how hard a person worked to get where they are.

15. Do you think Trinidad has the right system put in place for young individuals that want to get into modelling professionally?

No, I do not think Trinidad has the right system put in place, I think it needs more development in that area.

16. Do you have any advice for other individuals that want to get into modelling?

Be yourself, be outgoing, be confident, don't anyone put you down and know that you are amazing and can do amazing things.

Don't forget to share this article with your friends and follow us on instagram @ricardobarasa


bottom of page