top of page

When I Die

When i die

I want it to be a Sunday morning

With Sunday morning by Maroon 5 playing

silent

In the background as they put me in the ground

My casket must be made of mahogany

And brimstone

And hail

And Pails and buckets of tears

No one is allowed to cry

It must be at 6 in the evening

For i really like sunsets

and for once

I want my end to be more beautiful than the suns own

When I die

I want all my lovers to laugh

Hold my memories dear

Near

To the heart

Then part

Leave them bare for vultures to eat

They are dead now

I am long gone

I want my friends to sit

In my bedroom

With a bottle of jack Daniels Tennessee Honey

And a 6 pack of Guinness

And tell stories of me

like legend

like hero

like foolish boy holding faith for too long

Then rip my posters down

Batter my bed

Let out their hate for me leaving them

When I die

I want the world to bear my name on their tongue

Let me fester like flower beds on their psyche

It’s likely

That they shall repent

Let the air choke them till

They drown in their own self doubt

As I have done for years now

Let years of rhetoric

Crash down upon you like waves

Let tide take way your pride

Dash hope to the side

This is the time to pray

That when you die you go to heaven

Heaving

Grieving

for we all love god for the thought of heaven

and fear him for the thought of hell

and well

When I die

I will live on

For this life is cell

And i am no longer prisoner

When I die

I will want to love once more.

bottom of page