top of page

Who is Adrian Wilson?

Trinidad and Tobago, though plagued by crime, is still home to some extremely talented individuals in all fields. I will be focusing on the field of fashion and writing about a friend of mine who has a burning passion to make it in the fashion industry and is already taking steps to make his dreams a reality.

The fashion industry of Trinidad and Tobago may be miniscule right now but that doesn’t mean there isn’t hope for these small islands to thrive and show what they have to offer within the realms of fashion. Though we as a country lack a lot of what is necessary for our fashion industry to grow we still have many young individuals hoping to make a career within the fashion industry and show their skills. One of those young individuals that have a desire to succeed within the world of fashion is Adrian Wilson. Adrian Wilson is just one of the many young designers hoping to make a name and stand out in this competitive industry and I got the opportunity to learn more about him and share his story with the rest of the world.

 

1. Tell us about yourself.

My name is Adrian Wilson and I am twenty five years old. I live in the area of central Couva and I attended Carapichaima West. I currently attend The Caribbean Academy of Fashion Design at The University of Trinidad and Tobago. I would describe myself as a very friendly person that loves to laugh and interact with people.

2. What made you develop a love for fashion design?

I always had an eye for fashion. I use to look at what people were wearing from top to bottom and save money to buy stylish clothes and mix and match different colours and prints that eventually triggered my mind into wanting to know about fashion and eventually designing and coming up with my own ideas.

3. Could you describe your experience at the Caribbean Academy of Fashion Design and The University of Trinidad and Tobago?

My experience at the Caribbean Academy of Fashion Design at the University of Trinidad and Tobago was a wonderful one for me because coming out of a different programme and entering into Fashion was so odd at first and I had no knowledge whatsoever in Fashion but it was a truly a gift I had. I loved every moment of it. Meeting different students from different countries and just the experience opened my eyes to the many possibilities available to me.

4. Do you look up to any fashion designers and why?

The designers I look up to in Trinidad and Tobago are Shaun Griffith Perez because getting to know him I could see he is very passionate with his craft. He is a very talented designer and his work is very elegant. He knows exactly what his customers want. Adrian Foster is another designer I look up to; he is very driven with his business and perfecting his garments towards his clientele. His designs are very clean and modern and the quality is excellent. International Designers and fashion houses I look up to are Ralph & Russo, Balmain Paris, Alexander McQueen, Jean Paul Gauleiter, Alexander Wang, Stephane Rolland, and Chanel. These are just a few but I have many more designers that have inspired me.

5. I know you are in your final year of school but what do you plan to do when you finish school?

When I finish school I would love to work under a local designer and get experience. I would even love to get the opportunity to travel and intern for an international designer.

6. Where do you see yourself in five years?

In the next five years I see myself working for a fashion house abroad.

7. Do you know what audience you would like to target when you start producing clothes?

When I start to produce clothes I would like to target women and men from ages 25-45

8. Do you want to work for a company or do you want to start your own company?

I would love to work for a company for the time to get as much knowledge and experience and eventually have my own business.

9. Where do you find inspiration for your designs?

Finding inspiration for my designs is based on a lot of things. It could be the environment, nature, music, art, tribal people and architecture.

10. Have you ever experienced failure while at school and how did you overcome it?

I have experienced failure at school and I cried many times. Sometimes I felt like giving up but I just sucked it up and told myself failure is a must in order to grow and do much better which I have been doing.

11. What is the biggest lesson you have learnt so far?

The lessons I have learnt are to always be humble, work hard and stay true to myself in terms of my designs.

12. Describe your creative process.

My design process would start with something that inspires me then I would research and develop a mood board followed by fashion illustrations and eventually draping and pattern drafting of the design.

13. Have you ever found yourself stuck creatively and how did you get unstuck?

I have found myself stuck creatively many times but what I do is take long breaks and listen to some music or watch a movie and eventually my creative juices activates.

14. What questions do you ask yourself before you begin to design?

In designing I ask myself a lot of question like what message I want to send out, what type of colour, what type of silhouette etc.

15. Tell us about a design you have completed that has made you the most proud.

A garment I can say that has made me proud was my third year junior critic designs. It was for a competition that was set by local designers where they select 2 designs from my collection concept to construct. I worked really hard day and night just to complete it in time. I hand sewed 90% of it while 10% was by machine. Seeing my work during the final night of the show was amazing and I was overwhelmed and shocked that I won first place. It truly was a great experience that I would never forget.

16. Any advice for individuals that would like to pursue a career in the fashion industry?

I would surely say that if you have a passion and drive to do fashion then by all means do it because this is a wonderful field to be in as it has a lot of possibilities. Work hard and stay humble and always be opened minded.

If you would like to see some of Adrian's work check the gallery below.

Did you enjoy this blog post? leave your feedback in the comments below.

bottom of page